Marie Andrée Roy is an award winning young composer from Montreal, specializing in writing music for film and contemporary dance.

Marie Andrée received accolades amongst other Canadian composers placing second in the “best fiction film” category in a national competition sponsored by the SOCAN foundation. In addition, her composition for a short film was selected by Telefilm Canada for public projection at the Festival de Cannes in 2011.

Marie Andrée discovered her love for music at a young age while receiving training in classical piano and jazz. This passion led her to study and receive her Baccalaureate in piano jazz at the University of Montreal with a deep focus in music composition. Fascinated by music and cinema, she decided to dive deeper into the study and practice of music composition for film, receiving a master’s degree in film scoring from the University of Quebec in Montreal.

Today, Marie Andrée can be found collaborating with many Montreal artists working across both cinema and dance. In addition, she is continuing her studies, taking courses in video game sound design and perfecting her craft under the tutelage of James Gelfand and François Bourassa.

Marie Andrée Roy est une jeune compositrice montréalaise, spécialisée dans la composition de musique pour film, jeux vidéos, publicité et danse contemporaine.

Marie Andrée reçoit en 2011 le deuxième prix pour la «Meilleure musique originale de fiction» du concours canadien des jeunes compositeurs de musique audiovisuelle de la SOCAN. Le même court métrage est aussi sélectionné par Téléfilm Canada et Prends ça court pour une projection spéciale au Festival de Cannes.

Marie Andrée découvre l'univers de la musique dès son jeune âge alors qu'elle reçoit une formation classique en piano. Elle se distingue alors en remportant plusieurs premier prix pour ses interprétations. Plusieurs années plus tard, elle termine un baccalauréat en piano Jazz à l'Université de Montréal. Fascinée depuis toujours par la musique et le cinéma, elle concentre ses études dans la composition de musique de film et obtient une maîtrise en composition à l'Université du Québec à Montréal.

Aujourd'hui, Marie collabore avec plusieurs artistes montréalais dans les domaines du cinéma et de la danse. Elle poursuit de nouvelles études en conception sonore pour les jeux vidéo, et perfectionne sa maîtrise du piano et de la composition auprès de mentors tels que James Gelfand et François Bourassa.